ਸਤਿਗੁਰਬਚਨਕਮਾਵਣੇਸਚਾਏਹੁਵੀਚਾਰੁ॥
Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Does doing simran/Gurbani can help family members?

Posted by Lostsoul. 
Sat shri akal!
I once heard this Katha and singh ji said that when one person read Gurbani or does simran, It can help their whole Family.
[www.youtube.com]

The reason I am asking is because My father has been a very bad person when he is drunk, So most of his life he has spent hurting many people, family, and relatives.I try my best that he can use his rest of the life to get close to waheguru ji instead of being so Materialstic But he does not listen.
I do not know what happens in afterlife, I just want him to realize that he should use his life properly here.. I am not perfect by myself, I just want to bring my family to where I am today. I am a very beginner sikh and learning and the more I am learning the merrier I want my family especially dad to use his time wisely.
So is that true..If I read more Gurbani, Does simran, and remember waheguru ji more, I can help my family too?
I will try to collect more Kathas and will try to make him listen but he is very stubborn and ignore when I tell him that do paath or listen to this, instead he spent whole time watching TV.
He is almost 60 and one priest told my mother back in punjab that he will live until 70..I don't know how much truth in it but I feel like a rush..Maybe I will die before that we have no idea of death, But I am not worried about myself, I just want him to be okay.
I read a book about bhai rama singh ji..Manmukh to Gurmukh and he described hell and heaven concept that did scare me. My fathers whole focus is maya ( Money, alcohol, Ego) and I know if he does not change his life he will be tormented by all this.
He has hurted soo many people including us..and I just want him to atleast gain some good karma.
I will really appreciate the help. Thank you
Reply Quote TweetFacebook