Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

recipe for chole

Posted by singhni 
recipe for chole
December 30, 2013 05:23PM
Vaheguru ji ka Khalsa
Vaheguru ji ki Fateh

Can anybody please do seva of posting recipe for bibeki chole? Step by step instructions would be very much appreciated

An easy recipe would be very appreciated as I have only been cooking for 6 months.

Thank you so much in advance

Vaheguru ji ka Khalsa
Vaheguru ji ki Fateh
Reply Quote TweetFacebook
Re: recipe for chole
January 01, 2014 09:58AM
Guru Ramdaas Ji, in HIS childhood used to sell boiled gram (Ghunganian) for livelihood. It is said that HIS maternal grandmother used to prepare it for HIM. So remember Guru Sahib, while you prepare it.

I am no expert in cooking, yet I have some experience.

We need to soak the pulse over night, especially if one is not going to use pressure cooker. Berfore soaking, washing the pulse thoroughly is good idea; as the water used for soaking is not to be thrown away. Salt helps is making the pulse soft, so can be used at the time of soaking. Boil the pulse till it is soft.

Once the pulse is soft; rest of the procedure is common to all pulses. Onion, garlic, ginger, chilli green/red, turmeric, Jeera, coriander, can be used for TADKA. If you have lot of soup, you can drink it as such. Put the soft/boiled pulse to the TADKA prepared separately.

To make the soup "thick", slightly press/mash some of the boiled pulse and put it in the prepared food.

This is what little I know. I am sorry, for any important omissions.
January 01, 2014 07:18PM
What is pulse?(?)

Thanks that's a good recipesmiling smiley Ill use it , im making it right now

Do you make a masala for chole? Or something?
January 02, 2014 05:04AM
You can also use this recipe and replace it with cholay I believe:

[gurmatbibek.com]