ਸਤਿਗੁਰਬਚਨਕਮਾਵਣੇਸਚਾਏਹੁਵੀਚਾਰੁ॥
Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Indian History

Posted by GurmanSingh 
Indian History
September 13, 2011 11:11AM
A Question for those who have studied in India...

How is Sikhi taught in Schools with regards to history? What is said about Sikhi in India from Guru Sahibs times? What is said about Khalsa Raj during Maharaj Ranjit's times? What else do you remember being taught about Sikhi in Indian history?
Reply Quote TweetFacebook
Re: Indian History
September 13, 2011 02:29PM
I studied in the Middle East but the school was an Indian school affiliated to the CBSE New Delhi board. There is a really small and minute (if I may say) mention of Sikhi or the Guru Sahibaan. In fact, Sikhi is brushed as part of the Bhakti movement. Guru Nanak started Sikhism...Guru Gobind Singh created Khalsa...that is basically it.
September 13, 2011 02:55PM
VahegurooJee I went to school in India till age 10. So can only provide information till that time.

I went to a Sikh School in Delhi. Although we had a Guroodvaraa on the school property, there was very little use of it. We were not required to go and do matha tekh to Guroo Saahib. In the morning there would be Hukamnamaa read and then Ardhaas. After that was the Jan Gan Mangal Indian National Anthem. I still don't know why we did it since the school I went to was one of the campsites during 1984 for Sikhs. We actually celebrated Nehru's day. I don't recall what the day was for but we used to get a banana and Pakorey. And then there were other Hindu holidays that we celebrated or had days off for. During Vaisakhee we did have langar though. Sorry if I am going off topic but I have to tell you how a Sikh School in Delhi used to or maybe still is working today.