ਸਤਿਗੁਰਬਚਨਕਮਾਵਣੇਸਚਾਏਹੁਵੀਚਾਰੁ॥
Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Japjee Sahib Rauls Alongside AkhandPaath

Posted by Bhupinder Singh 
ਵਾਹਿਗੁਰੂਜੀਕਾਖਾਲਸਾਵਾਹਿਗੁਰੂਜੀਕੀਫਤਹਿ

Why do Some people choose to do Japjee Sahib Rauls along side AkhandPaaths?

ਵਾਹਿਗੁਰੂਜੀਕਾਖਾਲਸਾਵਾਹਿਗੁਰੂਜੀਕੀਫਤਹਿ
Reply Quote TweetFacebook
i believe what you are describing is done at deras run by sants, sounds like a nanaksari practice to me (though i'm no expert). the Sikh Rehet Maryada say it's an anti-gurmat practice.

during the course of the uninterrupted or any other reading of Guru Granth Sahib, reading of other Scriptural texts side by side with or in the course of such reading is contrary to the gurmat (Guru's way).

[www.sgpc.net]
I personally don't understand the logic behind doing paath of Siri Jap jee Sahib along with Siri Guru Granth Sahib jee but we do see that in early days, the Jatha too used to do paath of Siri Jap jee Sahib as is clear from the story involving doing Siri Akhand Paath Sahib for the salvation of a ghost in the city of Jaipur.

It looks like in early days Singhs used to sometimes do paath of Siri Jap jee Sahib during Siri Akhand Paath Sahib but when it was prohibited by Panth, this tradition was abandoned. Now a days, for the most part, this tradition is no longer observed in the Jatha. I could be wrong on this and would like to be corrected if I am wrong.

Kulbir Singh
Veer Ji
This topic was discussed at other boards too. Jap Ji Path is still practiced at many places; where possible.Singhs find benefit with this practice. That makes sure some more persons are envolved and present at the place. (Thaan Suhavva). Beginners especially children get trained with this practice. (Jap Ji is supposed to be a Gap Filler in the pauses, if any, I feel. As if we have the practice of one and quarter, instead of simply one. This is my personal feeling. No discussion please, on this point.)