ਸਤਿਗੁਰਬਚਨਕਮਾਵਣੇਸਚਾਏਹੁਵੀਚਾਰੁ॥
Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Reminiscences of Gurdaspur: A patit mahapurakh!!!!

Posted by gurvitohkurbaan 
IkOngkarSriVahiguroojikiFateh!!
VahiguroojikaKhalsaVahiguroojikiFateh!

This week we visited Gurdaspur in Punjab from Amritsar. One of my cousin chachaji lives there. I was amazed to see a dastaar on his singhnee's and daughter's head. They told us that in Bambri pind, a few miles their place, a good deal of parchaar is happening. The credit goes to a gursikh of a very high avastha. A doctor by profession, he is responsible for amrit parchaar in the Gurdaspur area. They told us that sukhmani sahib paath iz done by the sangat in doctor sahib's clinic in that village, and then night smgms daily in different locations across gurdaspur district. Yeah we missed sri sukhmani sahib pehraa but the following night samagam in Batala was really wonderful. I never knew that they did kirtan in AKJ style and name of the jatha is nishkaam kirtani jatha. They have their own buses to take sangat from their homes to samagams and then leave them back home. Doctor sahib was so immersed in naam that his face was as still as a statue. My fear of babas and Christian missionaries in punjab decreased, i could see a lot of keskis within bibiyas, daara parkash among gurmukhs.
The next day We had plans for the darshan of Gaznipur, the village of Bhai Sahib Fauja Singh ji. We had a talk with a lot of locals about bhai sahib. But i was depressed by the fact that most of the youth in bhai sahib's village are patit.
The evening we went to the village of chote ghumman. The gurdwara in the village is splendid and folks say is associated with a mahapurukh, baba hazara singh. Well the point to be noted is that when i saw the pic of the mahapurukh, earth slipped from my feet...the mahapurukh had his kes cut, wore punjabi chaddar instead of kacherra!!!!
How can he be a mahapurukh?, i asked
And i was told mahapurukhs have their mauj!!!!!!