ਸਤਿਗੁਰਬਚਨਕਮਾਵਣੇਸਚਾਏਹੁਵੀਚਾਰੁ॥
Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Two things that trouble me

Posted by Theguptone 
Vaheguru Ji Ka Khalsa Vaheguru Ji Ki Fateh!

Pyaree sadh sangat jio, daas is very troubled two thoughts stuck in the mind. As amritdharis we must not eat meat or anything containing animal products, however my first problem is that what about the fertilizers used on wheat and vegetables. I am not a scientist I don't know much about these things, but I read that fertilizers contain things from animals, I have been trying to search on the internet and it doesn't look like one can easily find (if at all) where vegetables can be bought which haven't used any such fertilizers. If we gave up vegetables we would be left with nothing... are such foods ok to eat as they themselves are not meat? does anyone know if there are any chemicals left on the foods?
Secondly, majority of soaps use animal derived glycerine, are such products ok? Say one is washing one's face with soap and it goes inside the mouth, is this a cause for concern? Same with other products such as shampoo (which I think also contains some sort of chemical alcohol).
Please help me sangat jio.
Reply Quote TweetFacebook
Regarding the use of fertilizers, I am not sure if they are derived from animal sources but given the ground realities, I think vegetables and fruits are still fine to consume. I don't think we need to look this deep. None of the products we ear are without damage but eating Vegetarian food is least damaging. On top of vegetarian food, we are allowed to consume other products from animal sources e.g. honey and dairy products etc. Since these foods are acceptable from Guru Sahib's times, there is no need to have double thoughts about consuming them.

Regarding soaps, all Gursikhs I know in India and abroad, use them without hesitation. So it must be fine. If you want to be extra-cautious, then use soaps that are strictly vegan.

Kulbir Singh