ਸਤਿਗੁਰਬਚਨਕਮਾਵਣੇਸਚਾਏਹੁਵੀਚਾਰੁ॥
Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

vacuum cleaners

Posted by 1kaur 
vacuum cleaners
February 07, 2010 10:24AM
waheguru ji ka khalsa, waheguru ji ki fateh!

i think it must happen to everyone. we try to pick up each piece of fallen kes for sanskar... but sometimes we miss a strand here or there. maybe when retying our keskee... it happens.

here's my question. what do we do if we vacuum it up, and the vacuum cleaner becomes clogged with kes. it needs to be cleaned out or it won't work. but the only way to remove it seems to be to break or cut it. is it ok to cut fallen kes? it feels wrong somehow, we don't cut the kes from a dead body, so i'm a bit confused on this issue.

sometimes it seems like i'm obsessing over details, but as i'm new to sikhi, there are things i simply don't know.

suggestions?

waheguru ji ka khalsa, waheguru ji ki fateh!
Reply Quote TweetFacebook
Re: vacuum cleaners
February 07, 2010 10:47AM
Bhain jee, I never thought of this before reading your message today. I have cleaned our vacuum cleaner before and if there was a need, I have cut the hair stuck in the brush of the vacuum cleaner. I did not think it was a sin but now you have got me thinking. Don't have the answer to this but for practical reasons, you cannot avoid not cutting some hair stuck in the base of the cleaner. If you feel too guilty, I guess the only option is to upgrade to hardwood floor from carpet.

Kulbir Singh
February 07, 2010 10:49AM
to add onto what our penjee asked,

fortunately, my vaccum cleaner doesnt get jammed that often. The few times when that has happened, I didn't have to cut kesh or anything, they simply came out and I put them with my other birrd (fallen) kesh.